White House

Every President of the United States and his or her family have lived and worked at the White House since 1799.

It’s location was selected by 1st President George Washington in 1791, but it wouldn’t be completed for more than eight years, when 2nd President John Adams and his wife became its first residents.

You can request a free tour of the White House by submitting a request through your representative in Congress. The property currently includes:

  • 132 rooms
  • 35 bathrooms
  • 412 doors
  • 147 windows
  • 28 fireplaces
  • 8 staircases
  • 3 elevators

The building was initially called the “President’s Palace,” “President’s House,” and “Executive Mansion” before being officially dubbed “White House” by 26th President Theodore Roosevelt., who had the name engraved on Presidential stationary. Its current form, written as “The White House” with “Washington” below- is a tradition that began with 32nd President Franklin D. Roosevelt.

In the War of 1812, the British captured and set fire to the White House in the Burning of Washington, marking the only time a foreign power has controlled the capital. After it was repaired, major renovations were added by Presidents James Monroe (South Portico), Andrew Jackson (North Portico), Theodore Roosevelt (West Wing), and Harry Truman (interior reconstruction).